The PIABA Foundation, Inc. is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 James E. Beckley Writing Competition. "Once again, the judges continue to be impressed with the quality of the writing and depth of understanding of the issues presented in the Competition submissions," said Robin Ringo, Director. "It is our honor to recognize the winning authors."

Barry University School of Law student, Joshua Jaffe was awarded 1st Place and received a $1,000 stipend. Although he was unable to receive the award in person, Mr. Jaffe was recognized as the first place recipient at the PIABA 25th Annual Meeting in Rancho Bernardo, Florida for his paper, Dodd-Frank: The Issue of Who Qualifies for Whistleblower Protection.

For his paper entitled, The Development of Real Estate Crowdfunding: Will it Surpass Traditional Real Estate Financing?, University of Missouri at Kansas City College of Law student, Arooj Nazir, finished second and received a $750 stipend.

Pepperdine University School of Law student, Nona Yegazarian, finished in third place and received a $500 stipend for her paper, To Be, Or Not To Be…In Privity: Rescission Under California’s Blue Sky Laws.

The PIABA Foundation would like to acknowledge and thank the contest judging team for their contributions to the selection process: Katrina Boice (California), Melanie Cherdack (Florida), Lance McCardle (Louisiana, Patricia Vannoy (Nebraska), and Elizabeth Zeck (South Carolina). PIABA Bar Journal, Editor-in Chief, Jason Kueser, Lees Summit, Missouri, administered the contest.