PIABA Honors and Awards

October 28, 2023 (Norman, OK). The PIABA Foundation, Inc. is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 James E. Beckley Writing Competition.

Florida State University College of Law student, Maxwell Holleman was awarded 1st Place and received $1,500 for his paper "Navigating the Greenwash: Strengthening Measures to Combat Deceptive Sustainability Claims."

This award is presented to a PIABA member in recognition of outstanding educational contributions to PIABA's membership-at-large, including but not limited to the topics of securities laws, regulations, practice tips, professionalism, ethics, and well-being.  This special recognition may be given to a member for thoughtful and beneficial educational efforts provided to the membership such as contributions to the PIABA email list-serves, supplementing PIABA's members-only materials, participating in educational panels or webinars, or making other substantial and meaningful

The Public Investors Advocate Bar Association (PIABA), an international bar association comprised of attorneys dedicated to the representation of individual investors in disputes with the securities industry, today announced the 2022 PIABA Distinguished Service Award recipient, Christine Lazaro. The PIABA Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual in recognition of outstanding, long‐term and sustained service to promote the interests of the public investor in securities and commodities arbitration.

For their service and contributions to Public Investors Advocate Bar Association (PIABA), Philip Vujanov, Courtney Werning, Omar Bengali, and Brent Burns were named recipients of the 2022 PIABA Outstanding Service Award at the 2022 PIABA Annual Meeting.

October 26, 2022 (Norman, OK). The PIABA Foundation, Inc. is pleased to announce the winners of the 2022 James E. Beckley Writing Competition. "Once again, the judges continue to be impressed with the quality of the writing and depth of understanding of the issues presented in the Competition submissions," said Robin Ringo, Director. "It is our honor to recognize the winning authors."